Wk 10-Activity- ACP

This week I prepared an ACP to send to my best friend back home. It contains a page that I colored out of a coloring book (a new hobby for me) a book I loved that I read recently and a BUILD pin. I told her how I have started occasionally coloring and she is really interested and said she would love to partake, so that it why I included the coloring. I included the book because I generally don’t read, so the fact I even read a book this summer is impressive. Also, I really loved the book and I felt she should experience it as well. I also included a piece of a junk mail because I always complain to her about how much junk mail we recieve. Finally I included a pin and name tag from my recent research poster presentation. All these little items seem carry a lot of weight and representation into my life. I am curious to see if these are well received because while I think the initial gift is cool and thoughtful, I assume she will lose interest and store it somewhere to remember every so often.

20160731_103737

 

I would never think of an ACP as being similar to a snapchat. A snapchat is a quick form of communication that doesn’t have the thoughtfulness behind it. While a picture of a drawing or an item has the same intent, it carries a completely different experience than the tangible picture or item. A snapchat is a small fleeting moment into someone’s life that is often commercial and sent to many people. An ACP is generally personalized and more of a gift, making it more thoughtful than a simple picture

I think ephemera is a really cool concept and you can tell others who have an ephemeral item really care and think it is precious. However, as much as I would like to have the same effect, I don’t carry the same precious look to it. Maybe it’s because I have never really received an ephemeral item or anything like that, but while it would be thoughtful and nice in the moment it would probably end up forgotten in my room. If I gave my grandkids a Coachella bracelet they might think it’s cool, but they have no idea about my experience there. I could tell them but the bracelet still wouldn’t carry the same weight.

I believe there is a difference to art that is seen by many versus art only seen by a few. Especially if the art is only intended for a few. If you want broad commercial appeal than you generally can’t add the uniqueness and personal meaning that you can in art seen by a few. Also, if it is an ACP you can explain the meaning behind it and if they know you they can see why it would have that much meaning. But when it is large scale art it often leads to others interpreting your art.

I think you can show love with fast food or a take out meal but it is a situational thing versus being made with love. It can be delivered with love. For example, if someone brought me Chick-fil-A on a day I was down and sad then I would think it is extremely thoughtful and brought with love. However it is the act of bringing it that shows the love. When you prepare a meal and cook for someone then I believe you get the prepare the meal with love concept because you know they put in a lot of work.

 

Leave a Reply

